Indian Chemical Society

A Premier Scientific Society of India

Promoting Education, Research & Innovation


Journal Of The Indian Chemical Society, 2020

The Indian Chemical Society was founded in 1924 with Acharya Prafulla Chandra Ray, the doyen of chemical sciences in India, as its first President. The idea of creating such an all India Chemical Society was originated in a private conference of three illustrious Indian Chemists Professor J. C. Ghosh, Professor J. N. Mukherjee and Professor Swanti Swarup Bhatnagar while they were working in the University College, Chemical Laboratories in London. Their cherished dream came to reality after their return to India with the foundation of the Society on May 09, 1924 with Professor J. N. Mukharjee as the Honorary Secretary and with Acharya Prafulla Chandra Ray who is aptly regarded as the pioneer in initiating teaching and research in chemistry in our country as well as in the establishment of chemical and pharmaceutical industries as the President of the Society. Many of the distinguished personalities in the field of chemical science of that time in India took active interest in nurturing the new born Society. The Indian Chemical Society publishes a peer reviewed highly cited monthly journal, The Journal of the Indian Chemical Society from its very inception i.e. 1924. Besides regular publication of the Journal, special issues in the Honour of distinguished scientists (e.g.Professor Animesh Chakravorty, Professor Sunil K Talapatra), events like Convention, theme based (e.g. Sensors) issues are also published. The Graphical Abstracts had been introduced in the Journal of the Indian Chemical Society and the cover page of the Journal containing the diagram from the best selected papers is published.