Proceedings of the Extra Ordinary Annual General Meeting of the Indian Chemical Society virtually held on July 05, 2022 at 4.00 PM.

The President called the meeting to order and requested Prof. D C Mukherjee, Convener, Election Subcommittee to place the recommendations of the Subcommittee in connection with the amendments of the Part III: Election of the Council of the Bye-Laws of the Indian Chemical Society for Section 12 (b) to Section 15.

Prof. D C Mukherjee placed said recommendations as follows:

The Amendments of the Part III: Election of the Council of the Bye-Laws of the Indian Chemical Society for Section 12 (b) to Section 15:

At present Sections 12 (b) to 15 of the Bye-Laws of the Indian Chemical Society state that:

Sec.12 (b) If, however, the number of nominations received exceeds the number of vacancies forthat constituency, the Honorary Secretary shall send to each fellow entitled to receive notices, a ballot paper as hereinbefore mentioned in the manner provided in Section 11(c) of the Bye-Law, each ballot paper shall also state the date which it must be received by Honorary Secretary at the Society's office, duly completed as provided inBye-Law III, Sections 7(b) and (c) in order to be counted. The counting of postal ballot shall be completed at least one week before the Annual general Meeting.

Sec.13 Upon a ballot for election to persons to fill vacancies in the Council, each Fellow shallbe entitled to one vote for each vacant place. The Scrutinizer, as hereinafter mentioned, shall reject any ballot paper completed otherwise than in accordance with these provisions.

Sec.14 Non-receipt of a ballot paper by any Fellow shall not invalidate any election provided that documentary evidence of the date of postal dispatch may be produced on demandby a Fellow not receiving the ballot paper.

Sec.15 (a) On a ballot being required, the Council shall appoint two Fellows, who along with the Honorary Secretary, shall act as Scrutinizers (Tellers). They shall scrutinize and count the ballots so received on some day previous to the Council Meeting immediately preceding the Annual General Meeting. They shall jointly prepare and sign a report for the Council, giving inter alia a statement of the votes cast for each candidate, the total number of ballot papers issued, number of ballots received and number of rejected ballots.

(b) A candidate contesting an election or a person duly authorized by him be allowed to be present at the time of counting of the ballots if so desired by the candidate.

The proposed Amendments of the Section 12 (b) to 15 of the Bye-Laws of the Indian Chemical Society are:

Sec.12 (b) If, however, the number of nominations received exceeds the number of vacancies for that constituency, the election for those posts will be duly held. The details of the modality of the Election of Office Bearers and Council Members of the Society will be decided at the meeting of the Council of the Society to be held just prior to the Annual General Meeting of the Society of the preceding year of the year of the Election. The decision of the Council will be forwarded to the AGM for approval.

- Sec.13 The Election procedure will be conducted by a five-membered Election Committee to be constituted by the Council for conducting the Election.
- Sec.14 (a) One of the Members of the Election Committee from Head Quarter will be designated as Retuning Officer, who will also be the Convener of the Election Committee.
- Sec.14(b) All relevant papers and documents in connection with the Election will be signed by the Returning Officer.
- Sec.15 The Members of the Election Committee shall not contest the Election for any post of the Office Bearers and Council Members and shall not propose or second the name of any candidate for the Election.

Professor D C Mukherjee stated that the at the Meeting of the Council held on April 13, 2022 it was resolved that the election of the Office Bearers, Members of the Council for the period of 2023-2025 will be held in mixed mode that is both by online and Postal Ballots. This resolution needs to be ratified by this Extra Ordinary Annual General Meeting of the Society.

The proposals were unanimously accepted by the members present at the Extra Ordinary Annual General Meeting of the Indian Chemical Society held on July 05, 2022.

At this point the President suggested that the election of this year will be conducted at first by online mode for those whose valid e-mail id and mobile number are recorded in the office of the Society by sending proper notice to them. The voters intending to caste their votes not by online mode will inform the office and they along with the voters whose e-mail id and mobile numbers are not recorded will caste their votes by Postal Ballots.

The Meeting was ended with the vote of thanks to the Chair

Sd/- Professor G D Yadav President Sd/-Professor Chittaranjan Sinha Honorary Secretary

## Members Present

Anjan Ray

Arun Sawant

Ashok Jha

Asit Chakraborti

Dr A Anton Smith

Bhalchandra Bhanage

Chittaranjan Sinha

Jhuma Ganguly

Dulal Chandra Mukherjee

Dr. Smita Lele

Biswajit Pal

Rahul Bhattacharya

Sudip Das

Ethirajan Sukumar

Professor G. D. Yadav

Dr. S. Hariprasad

lathaa nachimuthu

Asok K Mallik

M Ramakrishnan

Nibedita Chakrabarti

Rajendra Kumar

R Jadeja

Samir Biswas

Sanjay Kamble

Saurabh Das

Prof. Chittaranjan Sinha

Venkatachari Seshadri

sheo satya Prakash

Shivendu Ranjan

Shubhangi Soman

Subhajit Sikdar

SUDIPTA LET

Virendra Rathod

Dr. Ch. Venkata Ramana

Reddy

Samaresh Bhattacharya