J. Indian Chem. Soc., Vol. 96, January 2019, p. iii

## PREFACE

Management of advances in new materials now becomes a great challenge to the scientists, engineersand management personnel. The Department of Inorganic Chemistry, University of Madras, Chennai has organized an International Conference on *Advances in New Materials* during June 08 and 09, 2018. The Indian Chemical Society, a premier scientific organization, established in 1924 with Acharya Prafulla Chandra Ray as its founder President has come forward to dedicate first issue of 2019 as special issue of the Journal of the Indian Chemical Society to accommodate some of the peer reviewed papers presented in the International Conference.

This special issue provides the permanent record of which were presented in the conference. They indicate the state of development at the time of writing of all aspects of this important topic and will be invaluable to all workers in the related field. This issue includes diverse areas of research in chemical sciences including Electrochemical Sensors, Green Chemistry, Hydrogen Evolution Reaction, Coordination Chemistry, Photocatalyst and Photochemistry, Nanomaterials, NLO properties of metal complexes, Heterogeneous catalysis, Biomedical potentials, Semiconductor, Metal-Organic Framework and their potential applications, etc., This publication comprises 60 original research articles submitted by eminent chemists of the country, who were the Invited Speakers attending the International Conference.

We hope that the vision of ICAN-2018 will definitely inspire the scientific community and chemists.

Finally, without the contributions from all the authors, this special issue would not have become a reality. We appreciate all the contributors to this issue. Special thanks are due to M/s Auto-Print and Publicity House for their help in formatting and assembling the presentations within a short time.

Dulal C. Mukherjee President Sudip Das Honorary Secretary Chittaranjan Sinha Honorary Secretary

Convener ICAN-2018

V. Narayanan

Samaresh Bhattacharya Pradeep K. Sharma Akhilesh K. Verma Honorary Editors